Competitive shooting on low budget?

Lefty375

Ranger
Verified SOF
Background: I was considering getting back into shooting and not letting my skills disappear. However, I don't have unlimited amounts of ammo anymore as I'm just a college student.

Is it possible to start practicing again for cheap and eventually start competing? I have done some research and 3-gun seems like the most fun, but also the most expensive. I wouldn't mind doing Pistol only until I get a real job.

I will be starting from scratch regarding gear. If anyone can help with recommendations for weapons/equipment (maybe that offer discounts), or even some type of organization that provides reduced cost for veterans/students.

Thanks all.

Devildoc

Verified Military
You are a Ranger so you know all the important stuff: trigger control, manipulation, stances, dry firing (esp import with pistol). To shoot for real on the cheap, get a .22; as you are well aware, the fundamentals are irrespective of the caliber. Get into reloading at some point.

9mm...cheapest for competition, plentiful, cheap to reload. Kill two birds with one stone and get a Glock or S&W M&P and buy a .22 upper receiver. If you go to 3-gun, don't skimp on the AR. Many 3-gunners like the 18" barrel, but with your experience/skill set, you would do well with a good ol' 16" recce with a 1-4/1-6 scope. RDS like Aimpoint or EO Tech is great for center mass, but the scope is really imperative for precision. A Rem 870 or Mossberg 500 is just fine for shotty. Just make sure you get ghost rings or sights.

As for reduced costs for vets, I can't help (since I don't know any). You can start calling around the local shooting clubs, watching the matches, seeing what they have. I am sure your state or locale has an online shooting forum, you can pick up your guns and gear cheaper used that way.

Totentanz

Civil Affairs
Verified SOF