Contour Camera Goes Out of Business

RustyShackleford

Ranger
Verified SOF
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,098
Location
USA
#2
Interesting . I've seen as many Contours out there as GoPros. I actually have a GoPro (courtesy of an operation that we participated in) but cost and profile make the Contour a good alternative.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
1,199
#3
This really does suck. I really liked their products but didn't hear any glowing comments about their customer service. I see the "action cam" space getting a lot more competitive though, with "real" camera manufacturers. I'm a little surprised that someone larger didn't buy them up. Makes you wonder if there were "other" management issues, evidently one of the co-founders/CEO left earlier this year.
 
Last edited:

Arrow 4

Civil Affairs
Verified SOF
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
246
Location
Bush Valley
#4
I used my Contour to capture the bow shot on my archery bull Elk hunt last year...pretty bitchin camera. I also trained with a SWAT team last week that was wanting to buy them.
 

Mac_NZ

Stitch Bitch
Verified Military
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
1,582
Location
Christchurch
#6
Sony actioncam is a decent alternative. I had a contour but it copped a sim round and that was all she wrote.
 

DA SWO

SOWT
Verified SOF
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
8,541
Location
San Antonio Texas
#9
Do you think there would be a price drop/sale with them going out of business? Thats what I'm kind of hoping for before I buy one.

I'm a cheap bastard
Don't know; if they are good then the price may stay up as people snatch the remaining cameras up (200, plus 23 for a mount)
 

Coyote

Verified Military
Verified Military
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
139
Location
Canada
#11
Fuck, I was going to buy a Contour after going through this process of returning a THIRD in a row faulty POS GoPro. Looks like I gotta do more browsing.
 

DA SWO

SOWT
Verified SOF
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
8,541
Location
San Antonio Texas
#16
Pulled my contour out of the box.
1st bitch; no instructions. You have to go on-line to get them. Hate to be some Joe at a COB with no access. Cheap move IMHO.
 

21C

Verified Military
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
42
Location
Oz
#17
Shit. Just as I was looking to upgrade my 1st gen contour. I really don't want to go down the GoPro route either...
 

pardus

Verified Military
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Messages
9,894
#18
Pulled my contour out of the box.
1st bitch; no instructions. You have to go on-line to get them. Hate to be some Joe at a COB with no access. Cheap move IMHO.
Mine is still sitting in it's box after 18mths or so. I tried to get it going once and gave up. Do you have the link for the instructions?
 
Top