Newly Enlisted | Army 18X

Looney

Unverified
Hey everybody.

Last month I signed my 18X (Special Forces Candidate) contract with the Army and found Shadow Spear while reading up on the Q-Course. I decided to join the forum because I wanted to be able to connect with more experienced individuals and ensure I'm prepared for SFPC & SFAS. Also, I’ll be doing my best to document the process and give any advice for future candidates who read my posts.

Here's some of my background...
I grew up in the midwest with a good family. I wasn’t very social though, so in high school I started lifting, wrestling, and fighting to fill my time. I went to college for 6 days before dropping out and doing business full time. Over the last five years, I’ve lived in six cities, built two businesses, and had a lot of great experiences. I’m very ambitious, so the idea of becoming a soldier and eventually getting to a special operations team was always in my head. After I made some money, it clicked that this could all be done in my forties, but the opportunity to join the Special Operations Forces would never come back.

I started trying to join the Navy in February 2019, but after a faulty vision test, I was disqualified from a SEAL contract. I tried to appeal, but as you may guess they refused to update the records. The Navy then delayed my entry into the Army for ~4 months because they didn’t want to record me as a loss. It’s been a pain in the dick that’s cost me a lot of money and time, but I’ve got my contract now and I’m physically and mentally prepared. I’ll be on a plane to Fort Benning February 4th. Counting down the days.

Looking forward to connecting with you guys. Thanks.
– Looney

AlexSmir

Unverified