Started the Physical Training Guide (PTG) seal training

ptg

Unverified
Hey everyone,

Since I cant share my blog I thought I would keep everyone updated here instead.

This is better described in my introduction but I thought I would give you a quick overview to let you know what im currently doing. To be brief ive started the PTG (Physical Training Guide) its based off a rowing program, adapted for the BUD/s pipeline. Its written by Mike Caviston, the director at NSW and is the official training program for "preparing candidates for the rigours of the BUD/s pipeline".

The ptg can be found at sealswcc.com. It involves short runs (sprints) short swims eg.50yds mid range running and swimming and finally long distance running and swimming with callisthenics/weight training sessions.

How things are fairing so far; I started the program on Monday 26/10. I've been preparing to start for the past 2 - 3 months rather horribly. My run times are good (for me) I'm running sub 7min miles. I've really dialled down on the running. After all running is the number one statistic for getting thorough BUD/s.

In all seriousness everything else is not so good. I tried to do the David Goggins workout and threw in the towel after 30 minutes. I used to destroy this workout mid way through the year and would only have a little trouble during the star jump to push ups. Also my swimming has dropped off considerably due to COVID-19, no pools are open which only leaves the bay.

My body is already very sore from the first two days and I've started doing dynamic warm ups, warm up laps workout then cool downs to make sure my body is ready for what I'm about to put it through.

The hardest thing for me has been waking up at 5:30am to get the first WOD in. I also dread the idea of jumping in to the bay tonight with the water 57 Fahrenheit water. Not sure if that's cold but I will be wearing a wet suit regardless.