Weighing OCS vs enlisting

Hi all, I'll try to keep this short.

I'm a senior in college right now and I'm set to graduate in May. I've been heading toward medical school but the military has always been a goal of mine. I was going to head in after medical school but I would like to fully commit to trying for the special forces before I want to settle down. Medical school is still the ultimate goal.

That being said, 18D (while I'm sure it's competitive) is very enticing. However, I'm wary about enlisting. I'm a beginner in all of this. My brother has gone to USAF OCS and I would like to follow suit. However, I have learned that to be eligible for SOF as an officer, I need to be a 1LT (promote-able to Captain) - I also would not be eligible for 18D.

Realistically, what are my options? Is there any way I could be in medical school by 30 and have served in the SOF?

Thanks,
Ethan

Ocoka

Combined Action
Verified Military
Judging by your last sentence, you're already planning your departure from the Army. I can't help you with specifics, but generally speaking, both of your goals require incredible commitment. Pick one, focus on it like a laser and worry about what comes after down the road.

Realistically, what are my options? Is there any way I could be in medical school by 30 and have served in the SOF?

Thanks,
Ethan
You could serve and still accomplish Medical school(though at whatever age is up to you) if you want to. Just focus on your stuff and make it happen.

That's what Hoot did.

Devildoc

Verified Military
When I worked in the Surgery-trauma ICU at UNC Hospitals, we had two residents, one a surgery resident, the other a gas-passer. The surgery resident was a former 18D, the gas-passer, a former PJ. The SF guy was close to 40, the other, young, maybe 30ish (this was 2003/4 or so).