Aspiring 18D

Blue11B

Unverified
This will be my first post all, I am a former Infantryman and current EMT in a pretty busy system and I think it is time to go for it. Ill just cut to the the question though. I am wondering if there is a way to steer command to assign me to a certain group. For example, if I know some French or Arabic, would I be more likely to be assigned to 3rd or 5th group ? Im told there is a language aptitude test that might dictate where I go. Also, has anyone heard of someone getting selected only to find out that they wont be an 18D and have to be another MOS because of the Army's needs? I have extensive knowledge in medicine and I know that is my path.

You should know by now that the needs of the service override EVERYTHING. The only reason I can speak a little about this is because. I joined the Army in '79 with an H4 (currently 18x ?) enlistment option. Half way through AIT they announced a request for volunteers for another program. You do know what "voluntold" is right?

This will be my first post all, I am a former Infantryman and current EMT in a pretty busy system and I think it is time to go for it. Ill just cut to the the question though. I am wondering if there is a way to steer command to assign me to a certain group. For example, if I know some French or Arabic, would I be more likely to be assigned to 3rd or 5th group ? Im told there is a language aptitude test that might dictate where I go. Also, has anyone heard of someone getting selected only to find out that they wont be an 18D and have to be another MOS because of the Army's needs? I have extensive knowledge in medicine and I know that is my path.