Preparation for Selection

Airforcemark

Unverified
Hey, anybody that has gone through the Ten day orientation at Lackland please let me know if I should be doing anything more. I know no matter how much you prepare they are still going to push you to your very limit, but I also want the hard stuff to be easier so I can focus more on the mental and learning aspect instead of worry about weather I am going to make my run time tomorrow or whatever the case may be.

I am currently doing the Four Horsemen workout plan, got turned onto it by a a friend of my brothers that went through TACP. Its a great program in my opinion pushes me and it focuses a lot on core, deadlifting(all the time!!), and pull ups. With various calisthenics thrown into the mix with some heavy lifting. Very good workout. That lasts 4 months, but I have been doing it for about 9 months now. Just keep recycling it. So if anyone is interested in it I have a copy I purchased PDF. Its worth a look if your not familiar with it.

Recently I started rucking, not really to familiar with that though, and I dont want to over due it and injure myself before I even get picked up in a slot. But my most recent time (yesterday) I rucked with 45lbs dumbbell, for 4 miles in 44:52. I am not sure what requirements are on that for cross trainees, but I have read if I understand it correctly that people that cross train have to complete a 3 mile ruck at 50lb load in 45:00 minutes.

Other than working out and staying fit and swimming. I am planning on hiring a swim coach to teach me swimming techniques when I get back in October. So other than what I have said, do you guys see anything I could be doing or should be doing more or less of. I also run every other morning 3 miles. I dont want to hurt myself though before I even go, I scheduled my Class III Flight Physical for November, so everything is in order.