Questions Regarding Enlistment Etc.

JohhnyCrash

Unverified
Hey all. I apologize if I am not posting in the correct area but I have a few questions:

I am an LSU graduate with a political science degree. I am 24 years old and I want to enlist into the Army, Navy, Or Marine Corps do join a Special Operations Force. I understand that it is a longshot and that most individuals are DOR's or can not qualify physically. I want to go in to talk with the recruiters knowing that I already have the information about the organizations and that I am making the right decision. Therefore I am hoping that I can get some things cleared up.

PS - (I do not want to be an officer btw.. Maybe down the line but I would like to actually see how things work from the ground up and put in my time before I try and lead)

I know this is asking a lot but if someone could help me out in regards to describing the roles and function of each unit I am interested in and what they do. I am not asking which one is the best (I am not an idiot who cares about that). I am interested in which mission set/skill set that I would be the most interested/comfortable/best with. I have done all the research I can (books/wiki/unit description/command structure/lurking threads/etc) but I want honest opinions from people within the community since I know none. Comparing and contrasting

1. SEALs
2. USMC Force Recon
3. USMC Recon
4. USMC Deep Recon (is this the same as Force Recon?)
4. MARSOC (Raiders) I know I can't go straight in.. need to complete a tour. Still interested
5. 75th Ranger
6. Green Berets

If I could get a basic (not who is the best) idea of what their mission set, size, training, comparison, culture, command ideology, command environment, general environment, lifestyle, and current use in real world operations I would greatly appreciate it.