Leading Millenials in the Military

Interesting article. I was an Infantry company 1SG and didn't find
millennials lazier than my own generation. I did find them more willing to question authority and express their personal values and views but I think that's a reflection of the times. Generally, I think this generation is taught and allowed to question everything and that carries over into the military. Good or bad, is what it is.

I hate titles for groupings. They cause everyone who is allegedly a "member" of that group to take on the characteristics of said group.

I simply go off of the individuals actions...then, I name them accordingly....:sneaky:

With that said, it was a good article!

I hate titles for groupings. They cause everyone who is allegedly a "member" of that group to take on the characteristics of said group.

I simply go off of the individuals actions...then, I name them accordingly....:sneaky:

This is true. I have been a paramedic field training preceptor for may years now. I have been getting the young guns in, many are lazy, don't seek out additional info or play the victim when something is done improperly. Occasionally though, I get one kid that is shit hot, has their shit squared away and impresses me. I had one girl, an E.M.T. that just finished R.N. school, 22 years old but very bright, funny and not a whiny bitch. She will talk shit on her own generation on how they suck. LOL. Good kid.

M.

Like it or lump it, most of the generational groupings have been pretty well validated in research. Of course, it's all statistics and thrown on a bell curve, and there are always outliers.

When I start bitching about millennials in the military I have to stop and remind myself they have done the lion's share of the fighting. Millennials in the non-military sector? Game on.